THE MAN CALLED GUMBU NYUMU

Man of the moment on social media, Gumbu Nyumu, real name Pardon Chisikaurai says he aims to revive dramatic photography.

Gumbu Nyumu

It is this type of photography that has given birth to his photo shoots of him in vintage oufits. Born in Nyanyadzi on the 1st of October 1982 to Josiah Albert Chisikaurai and Shelly Hlomani Chisikaurai, Gumbu Nyumu is proud of his humble beginnings.

“I grew up in the dusty rural areas of Nyanyadzi where I did my primary at Nyanyadzi Primary School. Then my secondary was at St Patrick’s Catholic Mission in Nyanyadzi.”

He would alternate holiday visits to Harare and Masvingo his martenal side. Gumbu Nyumu’s father was a policeman at Machipisa police station which saw him living in Western Triangle, Highfield.

Though a bookkeeper and storesman by profession, the now South Africa, Pretoria based handyman has found new fame and a path career in this dramatic or portraiture photography. “I have been Pretoria based since 2001 and I am a handy man. I fix electrical gadgets, shoes and also do piece jobs.”

Zimlife asked on how he started dramatic photography modeling and he responded, “there was a time when things were not going well for me so I was working for a colleague now late, Andrew Chauke who was into selling fruits. He knew how to dress in fashion labels like Brentwood, Bishops. I started vintage clothing after Chauke introduced me to a group of fashionistas who call themselves the Ndukuman of Pretoria.”

Gumbu Nyumu Ndukuman style modeling

The social media sensation said that the Ndukuman are a growing community in Pretoria and the Gauteng province at large. They fancy vintage dressing inspired by Sophia Town lifestyle. He went on to say this community has its own platforms where members meet, dressed in vintage style with vintage cars, smoking pipes, walking sticks, berets, cross belts, colourful shoes and bags.

Thus Gumbu Nyumu the model was birthed and the man behind the moniker says he is excited with the attention he is getting lately. “Companies are approaching me to discuss synergies and I have been talking with artists and video graphers to do videos and adverts together. We also have a lot planned including having magazines and modeling. Together with my team, we are very patient that things will one day go the way we are planning.”

Gumbu Nyumu photos are taken adjacent to his work space in Bosman, Pretoria though sometimes they are taken at chosen sites when necessary.

” Gumbu Nyumu is our clan moniker. We are planning a film but had intended to start with a documentary of my life.”

Gumbu Nyumu in a cowboy dramatic photography shot

Gumbu Nyumu grew up fascinated with western lifestyle through watching films hence some cowboy shots he posts on social media. The man is single due to a divorce but is father to a girl whom he states he loves so much. “I am open for dating and am still looking for the right woman to marry,” he parted.

Leave a comment